Lifestyle

How I deal with stress and How you can deal with it too

Stress. It’s one of those sneaky things that can actually rule your entire life without you even fully realizing it.

If I’m being honest, stress has been at the forefront of my life for longer than I’d care to admit. I’ve kind of given myself the excuse of living with stress without thinking there was anything I could do about it.

But here’s the thing I’ve been learning about stress – it actually has very little to do with your circumstances, and so much more to do with your mindset/attitude.

After a recent experience of stress in my life, I had what I’d like to call an “oh HELL no” moment where I decided I just don’t want to live that way anymore. Living under the fog of stress is not what I want for the rest of my adult life which let’s be honest, isn’t going to get any easier. I decided that instead of succumbing to stress as a “normal” part of life – I was going to fight it with everything I’ve got.

So here are some things that have helped me become free from stress, and I think they can help you do the same;

PRAYER.
This is absolutely the first and most important step in becoming free from stress. God makes it very clear that we are not to worry and to seek and peace and I fully believe that He can deliver us fully from all stress, fear, and anxiety. Often times its just a matter of asking Him.

 

eee43cc91397a44de0cbdeba18df9fd8
Enter a caption

Face the issue when (if) it actually happens.
Often, the main trigger of stress is worrying about something before it actually happens. This happens to most of us. This are made up scenarios which no matter how likely or unlikely they may happen, they become a reality in our minds. So why not just face the issue when it comes rather than let it paralyze us in fear and stress before its even a reality?

Take one day at a time.
Of course life will always have times that you have to consider the future. But as much as you can, try to finish each day and be done with it.

3fc07ff5f7e284e808e72fe9fe634cab

Break the idea that stress is normal.
The lie that stress is a “normal” part of life is one of the biggest and easiest lies to believe. Especially when you are faced with a small problem, do not take it to an extreme that it overwhelms you.  Think and see if this problem is worth it? A practical thing that has helped me is, I look back at the end of the day and see that I did in fact accomplish a lot, and stress doesn’t have to be a part of that equation.

Unplug from technology when you can.
This is something I definitely need to work on 😉 It’s still a struggle, but I’d love to get to the point where I’m off my phone/computer for an hour or two in the morning and before going to bed at night.Well, we all know this is just a rumor for most of us.. Because this phones are more stressful than anything else.  My life practically revolves around my phone. If i cannot find it, 100% stress just fly through me.

Don’t verbally affirm that you’re stressed.
When I feel stress creeping in, one of the first things I do is open my journal and write down all of the things I’m thankful for. The power of gratitude beats the grips of stress every time.

Repeat this things on a daily basis and you will see that it does work out.

………………………….

 

 

Leave a Reply

